There are so many wonderful women in my life who have done so much for me and my family over the years. This year I figured I would do a little something more than just getting the usual last-minute gift. I have decided (inspired by the Royal Wedding of course) to have a ‘Low Tea’. There is actually a lot of etiquette that goes into these tea parties which you can find here. I will, obviously, be focusing on the food.

So I am really excited about the menu. This is a great opportunity to cook some new, simple recipes that I don’t otherwise serve at a dinner party. It is also a great opportunity to make everything very girly. 

Mom if you are reading this stop here. I want you to be surprised! 🙂

Menu 

*

lemonade

ice tea

assortment of hot tea

*

gazpacho

shrimp cocktail

baked goat cheese

fresh sliced cucumber on rye with herb butter

chicken and egg-salad on white (crusts off cut into little bite size sandwiches)

*

some sort of scone

lemon poppy-seed cake

*

I am searching local thrift and consignment stores for unique tea cups. I will probably purchase a different cup for each guest, and fill it with a little treats; teabags, handmade soaps, and something a little glittery (still not sure).

For the table I will be using a three-tiered silver cake stand from HomeGoods, vintage plates from the thrift store, a funky table-cloth, cloth napkins in a coordinating color, and my favorite; mason jars for cold drinks and an old glass milk bottle to hold the lemonade.

As you can tell, I am really excited about this party! I will post pictures asap!

These lovely pictures and tons of great event ideas can be found at http://www.thesweetestoccasion.com